Selected Writings
on Pilgrimage
What is
Visiting the
Twin Holy Shrines
Visiting Bahá’í Holy
Places in ’Akká
Mount Carmel
You Apply
Applying for
You Apply
Other Visits to
the Holy Land

Bahá’ís in good standing may apply to undertake a pilgrimage, which spans nine days and consists of guided visits to the Holy Shrines, various other sites in the Holy Land associated with the Central Figures of the Faith, and the Terraces and gardens on Mount Carmel.

In addition to these conducted visits, pilgrims, when not otherwise occupied, will wish to make additional visits to the Shrines and gardens and also to visit the Haifa Pilgrim House, the Monument Gardens, the Temple Land, the resting place of Amatu’l-Bahá Rúhíyyih Khánum, and the Bahá’í Cemetery in Haifa during the hours that they are open.

The first and supreme obligation of all Bahá’ís who visit the Holy Land is to pray and meditate in the Sacred Shrines of Bahá’u’lláh, the Báb and ‘Abdu’l-Bahá. To receive this bounty of visiting the Holy Places at the Bahá’í World Centre is an inestimable privilege, infinitely precious to every Bahá’í pilgrim.